In- depth project: Ernest Hemingway

This year, my in- depth project in International English will be about Ernest Hemingway and his book “The Old Man and the Sea”. I chose this subject because there is nothing like analyzing good literature if you want to improve your own writing. He was a great author with a very characteristic writing style, and there was nothing but admiration on my behalf after I had read “The Old Man and the Sea”. Therefore, I thought it would be interesting to learn more about the book and the author’s life.

In my project I will focus on Hemingway’s life, and how it might have affected his fictional characters, especially the main person in the book I read. Additionally, I am going to analyze the book and look for the characteristics showing that it was written by Hemingway. There are a lot of questions I hope to answer in my in depth- project, for instance what the deeper meaning of the book might be, and if the main character is a traditional “Hemingway man”.

the old man and the sea

If anybody is interested, I can post the project after I have finished it.

–          Kristin

28 thoughts on “In- depth project: Ernest Hemingway

  1. Good point you have here Kristin; there is nothing like analyzing good literature if you want to improve your own writing. I look forward to reading your project and I too was fascinated when reading the book. It is a classic worth studying that is for sure!

  2. Thats a really goodidea for your paper. All your research sounds very good and since you have already read the book this should be a great paper.

  3. thats a good idea for a project. i have heard of Ernest Hemingway but never read any of his books. hoefully the book is good and meaningful

  4. I have never heard of this author before, but you have a good idea in mind for your project. Im really looking forward into seeing how your project will turn out, good luck with it 🙂

  5. I researched him and he seems like a decent author, his writing style seems very unique. Can’t wait to see the finished project.

Leave a Reply

